top of page

Patterns


Growning up in Fiji was a wonderful experience that will live with me for the rest of my life. From Fiji to Sydney with the love of patterns and design has brought me to where I am today. My pattern inspirations all came from our Fijian traditional, cutural design clothings, jewellries arttifects and bures(houses). Mostly patterns were drawn on a series of masi motifs, an artform closely identified with Fijian cultural heritage and identity (common across many Pacific Island states, this artform is also known as tapa). In Fiji, the term masi refers to cloth made from tree bark and decorated with intricate designs, generally a grid of square or rectangular geometrical patterns or motifs, mostly black or rust-brown in colour, often with motifs repeated in a regular pattern across the fabric (Koojiman 1972). The pattern inspirations has given me alot of concepts in creating my logo that only has improved with time though my designing process.


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page